Talent Development Programme

Talent Xcelerator Programmes

Talent xcelerator programmes are being run alongside the Pathway to Podium programmes in Otago and Central Otago. These programmes are aimed for athletes from sports outside the P2P programme criteria or athletes who do not meet the criteria of the P2P but are tracking towards national and international success, an opportunity of gaining skills and knowledge to increase their performance. There are two main components to the services and support offered to athletes involved in the Academy Central Otago programme:

  1. Performance related Workshops;
  2. Group and Individual services.

The majority of servicing offered in year one is centred on group services/workshops. These workshops focus on developing the athlete and coaches support service knowledge and increasing their understanding of the key principles of elite training and performance.

Athletes and coaches will have the opportunity to gain greater insight into a wide range of services, ensuring the foundations of an elite performance pathway are in place.

Academy Otago 2017
Year 1
Name Sport Coach
Cecilia Crooks Swimming Gennadiy Labara
Devon Familton Surf Life Saving Joel Davies
Lucy Matehaere Sprint Kayaking Dr Brendan O’Neill
Nicole Ruske Basketball Dean Ruske
Jordan Ward Hockey (Mens) Dave Ross
Olivia O’Neill Basketball / Touch Natalie Visger
Hamish Mears Athletics Raylene Bates
Sam Gouverneur Athletics Joan Merrilees
Georgia Heffernan Netball / Cricket Lana Morrison
Hanri de Bruin Air rifle Shooting Hannes de Bruin
Mikayla Latta Touch / Sevens Damian Burden


Year 2

Abigael Crawford Golf Shelly Duncan
Josh Aitcheson Basketball Alf Arlidge
Kiana Pelasio Netball/Touch Nicki Paterson
Kees Duyvesteyn Road Cycling Geoff Keogh
Abbey Johnston Touch/Netball Grant Milne
Jack Laney Rowing Kelvin Maker
Rory O’Neill Athletics Brent Ward
Libby Van Harselaar Water Polo
Academy Central Otago 2017
Year 1
Louis Jones Biathlon / XC Skiing Val Burke
Reuben Thompson Tri / Cycling James Williamson
Zoe Hislop Football Jamie Whitmarsh
Amy Hislop Football Jamie Whitmarsh
Bradley Harris Mtn Bike Kerry Moir
Year 2
Sammy Burke Athletics Val Burke
Joseph Swale Cycling James Williamson
Fletcher Sharman Mtn Bike James Williamson
Hamish Walker Curling Peter Becker
Britt Hawes Freeski
Snowsports year 1
Alice Robinson Alpine
Ben Richards Alpine
Snowsports year 2
Eliza Grigg Alpine Nils Coberger
Edan McKay Alpine Jonny Rice
Georgia Bushell Alpine
Craig Murray Freeride
Finn Duffy Freeride

Programme Co-Ordinator

Michael Coutts


03 4790640