Elite Motorsport Academy

IMG_9228Otago Academy of Sport, in partnership with The Motorsport New Zealand Scholarship Trust and Otago University, delivers a tailored high performance driver academy to the rising talent of NZ motorsport.

The programme, having been initiated in 2004, focuses on equipping the drivers with the skills required to cope with the intense demands of world-class motorsport competition. Selected drivers are immersed in the world of high performance sport, being exposed to disciplines such as physiology, mental skills training, nutrition, media training and life management skills during an introductory week-long camp.

Graduates of the camp gain access to an individually specific programme of support services at the completion of the Camp, which allows for further up skilling and reassessments.


Since 2004 race drivers, rally, kartsport and a drifter have completed the programmes. 9 of which have been females. 28 drivers have gone on to compete off shore on at least one or more occasion with 13 having contested FIA recognised events.

Graduates of the Motorsport Academy read like a who’s who of the current crop of NZ’s leading drivers, from both Rally and Circuit racing disciplines.  Former Academy athletes like Shane van Gisbergen (V8’s), Brendan Hartley (Driving in Europe), Hayden Paddon (World Rally Championships),   Richie Stanaway, Mitch Evans, Stephen Barker, Hayden Pederson, Mark Gibson, James Munro to name a few.

Detailed Information on the Elite Motorsport Academy is available at http://www.motorsport.org.nz/elite-academy/

2017 Elite Motorsport Academy intake

  • Sarah Brennan
  • Samantha Gray
  • Jack Williamson
  • Aaron Crighton
  • Jordan Baldwin
  • Kaleb Ngatoa
  • Reece Hendl – Cox
  • Job Quantock

Brian Budd (Trustee Manager)

The MotorSport NZ Scholarship Trust
Phone (04) 815 8087
Mobile:  027 676 9546
Email:  brian@motorsport.org.nz

Michael Coutts

Otago Academy of Sport Manager

2017 Elite Motorsport Academy Coordinator


Phone:       +64 3 479 0640

Cell:           +64 221 281 400

Email:       michael@oas.org.nz

Arran Crighton
Sarah Brennan
Jack Williamson
Reece Hendl - Cox
Samantha Gray
Jordan Baldwin
Kaleb Ngatoa
Job Quantock